You, RLC and NDIS

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is changing the way people with disabilities get the support they need. It is designed to give people more choice and control about the services they require and who supplies them. RLC is a registered NDIS support provider and specialises in providing support to people with Mental illness, psychiatric disability and mental disorders.

To find out more about RLC’s services, please phone our intake team 1800 75 76 28 or use the form at right…

About The NDIS

There are exceptions but in general most NDIS participants will:

  • Have a disability that significantly affects your ability to take part in everyday activities, or have a developmental delay
  • Be aged less than 65 when you first apply to enter the NDIS
  • Live in Australia in an NDIS area on a specified date
  • Be an Australian citizen or hold a permanent visa or a Protected Special Category visa

The NDIS will pay for fair and reasonable supports and necessary supports. NDIS planners will meet with you to create a support plan that will enable you to live better in your community.

General support categories include:

  • Local area coordination in your region
  • Daily living
  • Employment
  • Home living
  • Relationships
  • Community participation
  • Capacity building
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Independence

It does not include day-to-day living costs that are not related to a participant’s disability support needs.

Yes, NDIS has been a registered support provider under the NDIS since July 2013, and we meet all applicable quality standards.


NDIS specializes in providing support under the following NDIS categories:

  • Support to address behaviour concerns
  • Assistance with daily life
  • Access to services
  • Service system navigation
  • Transport
  • Consumables
  • Assistance with social & community participation
  • Community access
  • Social connectedness
  • Assistive technology
  • Home
  • Housing support
  • Coordination of supports
  • Improved living arrangements
  • Increased social and community participation
  • Finding and keeping a job
  • Improved relationships
  • Improved health and well-being
  • Improved learning
  • Improved life choices
  • Improved daily living skills
  • Skills development

To meet the NDIS disability rules you need to have a disability that is likely to be permanent (lifelong) and that stops you from doing everyday things by yourself.

If the NDIS is operating in your area you can start with the NDIS access check list

It will be useful to think about what you want to achieve with the support provided in your NDIS plan.

You can also order a free NDIS Information Pack using the form at right.

The NDIS is being introduced in stages. Here are the roll out dates for Victoria:


From 1 January 2017 Central Highlands

Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Moorabool, Pyrenees

From 1 May 2017 Loddon

Campaspe,Central Goldfields, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mount Alexander ,

From 1 October 2017 Inner Gippsland

Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Latrobe, South Gippsland

From 1 October 2017 Ovens Murray

Alpine, Benalla, Indigo, Mansfield, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga

From 1 October 2017 Western District

Corangamite, Glenelg, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Moyne, Northern Grampians, Southern Grampians, Warrnambool, West Wimmera, Yarriambiack

From 1 November 2017 Inner East Melbourne

Boroondara, Manningham, Monash, Whitehorse

From 1 November 2017 Outer East Melbourne

Knox, Maroondah, Yarra Ranges

From 1 March 2018 Hume Moreland

Hume, Moreland

From 1 April 2018 Bayside Peninsula

Bayside, Frankston, Glen Eira, Kingston, Mornington Peninsula, Port Phillip, Stonnington

From 1 September 2018 Southern Melbourne

Cardinia, Casey, Greater Dandenong

From 1 October 2018 Brimbank Melton

Brimbank, Melton

From 1 October 2018 Western Melbourne

Hobsons Bay, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Moonee Valley, Wyndham

From 1 January 2019 Goulburn

Greater Shepparton, Mitchell, Moira, Murrindindi, Strathbogie

From 1 January 2019 Mallee

Buloke, Gannawarra, Mildura, Swan Hill

From 1 January 2019 Outer Gippsland

East Gippsland, Wellington

Some people will require support from a single provider. Others will require support from multiple agencies. For example, NDIS is the sole provider for many people and we also work with people who use two or more providers.


RLC NDIS specialists are ready to assist you. Fill in the form below and we’ll take it from there.